KORA LEGEND HITS UK

Legendary Gambian kora player JALIBA KUYATEH is currently touring the UK with the Kumareh band and guest artist Mam Tamsir to help raise funds for malaria relief initiatives promoted by the Gambia United Society (GUS). SAIKOUBA CEESAY spoke to him about his music and why he’s doing the tour

jalibaconcert3

How old are you, and what is your real name, because Jaliba means ‘great musician’ in the Mandingo language…
I am 52 years this year.  My name really is Jaliba and I was enrolled in school with that name.
What exactly is the kora?
It’s a unique 21 string instrument played by the Mandingo peoples throughout West Africa. It has a harp-like appearance and a notched bridge similar to that of a lute or guitar.
jalibaconcert2When did you first start playing the instrument?
I got into music from the age of 5 or 6. I found my father playing and my mother singing along with him. That’s when my dad started teaching me how to play the kora.
Which countries know your music apart from Gambia and Senegal?
My music is becoming almost international. It’s popular in Guinea Bissau, Guinea Conakry, Mali, Ghana and Nigeria. And I’ve played in most parts of Europe and America.
Have you played here before? What was the response?
I have played in the UK countless times and it’s always been good. I hope it is going to be fine again.
Which African music do you think is particularly good at the moment?
I love the Guinea Conakry music most and I think it has a future.
How important is the work that GUS does?
The Gambia United Society have sponsored a number of projects in the Gambia to help the sick and suffering. Recently they donated thousands of mosquito nets to the poor. This is why I always join hands with them, almost free of charge, to empower them.

Tour dates

27 February
Bristol
Venue to be announced

28 February
Birmingham
The Drum, 144 Potters Lane, Aston, Birmingham B6 4UU; £20 in advance; Doors open 11pm. Ends 4am.

For tickets and more information contact: Njok Malik: 07957 208129, Barham: 07872 170169, Musa Sise: 07951 284427, Lamin Jammeh: 07919 548305, Edi Jah: 07774 543097

Leave a comment